Skip to content

Making Modifications to the Rose Light Crystazzi Glass Pearl Jewellery Kit

15 September, 2011
Crystazzi Glass Pearl Jewellery Kit

I took apart the Double Strand Toggle Bracelet and the Double Strand Necklace, along with the Link Earrings for spare parts. The Cluster Earrings have been left as they originally were, but I made modifications to the Large Link Necklace and the Pearl Toggle Bracelet. I’d rather have one set of earrings/bracelet/necklace that I’m completely happy with, rather than two sets that I’m not. With both the necklace and bracelet, I changed the 12/0 pink seed bead that is on the outer side of the crimps and used a 2mm metal spacer bead there instead. I also used my new crimp pliers on the crimp tubes, which I think gives the crimps a much neater finish.

Pearl Toggle Bracelet

The small modification I made to this bracelet was to remove a 8mm pink pearl (plus pink seed beads) on each side closest to the toggle. These were replaced with a 4mm lilac bicone and 6mm pink pearl, to give a bicone/pearl/bicone combination on each side of the toggle. This was in order that the bicone nearest the toggle would be lifted away from the skin and therefore not scratch.

Before:

Pearl Toggle Bracelet

After:

Pearl Toggle Bracelet

Large Link Necklace

This necklace was modified quite significantly. Firstly, I added jump rings by the clasp. This makes it easy to add an extension chain, or change the type of clasp without having to redo an entire section of the necklace, unlike how it was put together previously.

Before:

Large Link Necklace

After:

Large Link Necklace

The beading wire is best attached to soldered closed jump rings as otherwise the wire could potentially slip through a normal jump ring.

I decided I wasn’t happy about the length of the chain sections, so I halved the length of those. This meant that I had to increase the amount of beads in the beaded sections. I left the middle beaded section as it was (that hangs at the bottom of the necklace), I replicated that section for the beaded sections immediately to each side of that. Most importantly, I made much longer beaded sections on either side of the clasp, that sit around the back and side of the neck. This now means that the necklace sits nicer and doesn’t irritate, unlike previously when there were large chain sections in that position. I did make the length exactly the same as it was previously, but I found that it actually hung lower due to sitting more nicely around the neck so I ended up having to shorten the overall length slightly to compensate for that.

Before:

Large Link Necklace

After:

Large Link Necklace

From → Jewellery Kits

2 Comments
  1. CousinCorp permalink

    Love to see people take our kits and make them their very own! Hope you share more in the future 😉

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Blog Exposure « A Beading Journey

Leave a Reply

