Skip to content

Selling My Jewellery

21 November, 2011

Ever since I started designing my own jewellery, I’ve been thinking about possibly selling it. I’ve been doing quite a bit of reading about selling, particularly in the area of handmade items. Looking at different sites, that can be used to sell handmade jewellery through, along with lots of other factors that need to be thought about:

  • Pricing
  • Selling
  • Packaging
  • Shipping
  • Tax Issues
  • Promoting Business
  • Insurance
  • Legal Issues

Plus, I’m sure there are other things that I haven’t thought of that I need to consider too. At the moment I’m finding the idea of it all to be a bit overwhelming.

My main initial goal/aim that I would like to achieve is to at least cover any costs with regards my jewellery making, including making jewellery items to keep for myself or to give as gifts. Basically I could then have my hobby pay for itself. If I ended up with more than that, it would really be a bonus. I’m planning on selling my jewellery creations through Etsy. I just don’t know, given how many people sell jewellery on a site like Etsy, as to how realistic it is for me to obtain my goal, or what timescale that could be achieved in.

The main aspect that I’m likely to find the hardest part, is the sales pitch and attracting potential customers. I’m an introvert and I’m not that good about talking myself up, the very thing that a sales person needs to be able to do. It’s difficult for me to know whether the jewellery I make is something that someone else would like to buy. I’ve had positive feedback from several different people that they like what I’ve made, but that doesn’t necessarily mean that somebody liking what I make, will translate in to a sale.

I’ve no idea whether selling my jewellery will take off and make enough money for me to continue doing it on a long-term basis, but if I don’t try I’ll never know. I’m not anywhere near ready to sell just yet, as I’ve got to sort a number of things out before I do so. Although I did order a load more beads to add to my bead stash, so that I have a larger collection of beads that I can make jewellery from. (Besides I had a 20% off coupon that ended yesterday which saved me some money. It would have been a shame to not use it.)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

