Skip to content

Picture Time

11 February, 2012

I’ve now managed to fully finish 34 items, which isn’t anywhere near my 100 item target. However, I really need to be able to start selling some items as I’m running low on certain sterling silver parts.

So it’s now time for me to take photographs of my items. I’ve been doing some reading up on how to use my camera properly, rather than simply pointing and clicking like I’m used to doing. Plus I’ve been reading about how to edit the photos composition wise as well. I’ve been playing around with background colours and props to create a visually enticing product photograph. I’ve now got a good idea as to how to place/position my products and what props to use. Now comes the time consuming part of taking lots of photographs in order to obtain 5 decent pictures for each jewellery item, as Etsy allows up to five photographs to visually show off an item.

I’ve added some test shot pictures that I created. There are the before (unedited) shots which are on the left, and after editing shots which are on the right. The only adjustments I’ve done with regards editing the photographs is to crop and adjust the light levels.

Snowflake Obsidian Sterling Silver Earrings Snowflake Obsidian Sterling Silver Earrings

Mauve & Rose Quartz Pendant Sterling Silver Necklace Mauve & Rose Quartz Pendant Sterling Silver Necklace

Clear Glass & Siam Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace Clear Glass & Siam Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace

Violet & Clear Pendant Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace Violet & Clear Pendant Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace

Violet & Clear Pendant Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace Violet & Clear Pendant Swarovski Crystal Sterling Silver Necklace

This last set just has two much of a blue tone to it. I’m not quite sure why. My photograph taking still obviously needs a fair bit of work.

2 Comments
  1. I’m really interested in how you are progressing with your work. I am in a very similar position myself, and i find taking photographs to get a decent shot the hardest part of all. I don’t use any editing software at all, maybe i should invest in some! Are you having much success with sales? Keep up the good work.

    • The only editing software I use is Gimp, it’s free to use. I’m at the point of taking photographs of the items I’ve created so far, in order that I can put them up on Etsy to sell. So I haven’t as yet tried to sell anything at this point.

Leave a Reply

